The Gaelic Literature Awards 2022: The Winners

Posted on 16 September 2022 in Latest News

The winners of the Gaelic Literature Awards have been announced. Prizes were awarded in four categories for books published between 1 May 2021 and 30 April 2022, and also for unpublished manuscripts for adults and children/young people, at Cottiers Theatre, Glasgow, on Thursday 15 September 2022.

Best Book for Children/Young People
Dùbh as by Sylvia Hehir, translated by Johan Smith (Garmoran Publishing)


The Derick Thomson Prize for Best Poetry Book (sponsored by The Scottish Poetry Library)
Eadar Ceòl is Corona by Donald Meek (CLÀR)


The Highland Society of London Fiction Prize
Constabal Murdo 2: Murdo ann am Marseille by Angus Peter Campbell (Luath Press)


The Donald Meek Award for Best Non-fiction Book
Ainmean Tuinneachaidh Leòdhais/ The Settlement Names of Lewis by Richard A.V. Cox (Clann Tuirc)


Best Unpublished Manuscript for Children/ Young People (in association with Acair)
An Cat Coigreach by June C. Graham


Best Unpublished Manuscript for Adults
Am Measg Luaithrean Beò by Robbie MacLeod