Gaelic New Writers Awards

The Gaelic New Writers Awards, delivered in partnership with Scottish Book Trust, is an annual scheme which offers two new Gaelic writers the opportunity to participate in a mentoring programme to develop their creative skills.

The Awards are open to Gaelic writers of various genres – fiction, prose, poetry, and so on. Under the scheme, two writers will each receive a grant of £2,000 to allow them to spend time focussing on their writing. Over the course of a year they will receive a tailored package that can include mentoring, professional development training or manuscript appraisal, and there will also be an opportunity for Awardees to attend a week-long retreat and to read their work at a showcase event.

The Gaelic New Writers Awards are currently closed to applications but will reopen in 2022.


Previous Awardees

2010: Niall O’Gallagher (poetry) & Ishi MacLean (children’s fiction)

2011: Sandy NicDhòmhnaill Jones (poetry) & Maureen Macleod (travel writing)

2012: Christine Stone (prose & children’s fiction) & Seonaidh Charity (fiction)

2013: John Urquhart (fiction) & Seonaid Macdonald (fiction)

2014: Calum L. MacLeod (fiction) & Steven Ritchie (fiction)

2015: Greg Thomson (fiction) & Morag Ann MacNeil (children’s fiction)

2016: Eoghan Stewart (poetry) & Jane MacLeod (fiction)

2017: Mòrag Law (fiction) & Marion F. Morrison (poetry)

2018: Alistair Paul (fiction) & Calum MacKinnon (fiction)

2019: June Graham (children’s fiction) & Liam Alastair Crouse (poetry)

2020: Mary Ann Kennedy (narrative non-fiction) & Andreas Wolff (narrative non-fiction)

2021: Beth Frieden (poetry) & Roddy Neithercut (narrative non-fiction)


With support from Scottish Book Trust.