About us

The Gaelic Books Council is a charitable company limited by guarantee and is governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association dated 2 July 1996 and updated on 23 February 2011.

The Gaelic Books Council was established in 1968 and currently employs five full-time members of staff. The Books Council’s premises are located at 32 Mansfield Street in Glasgow, and include a bookshop stocking a wide range of Gaelic and Gaelic-related books, cards and CDs. The Gaelic Books Council’s main purpose is:

  • To support the development of Gaelic writing.
  • To stimulate interest in Gaelic books and other related materials.
  • To support Gaelic authors by awarding grants and commissions.
  • To support the Gaelic publishing industry.
  • To increase the range, quality and impact of Gaelic literature.

The board of the Gaelic Books Council meets four times a year. Members of the board are directors of the company and trustees of the charity. The current members of the board are:

  • Ishbel Murray (Chair)
  • Catriona MacIsaac
  • Iain MacKenzie
  • Shona Henderson
  • Marion Sinclair
  • Rona MacDonald
  • Peigi MacVicar
  • Julie MacFadyen

The Gaelic Books Council’s annual reports and accounts can be found on the Companies House website.

(Companies House: SC166766)

The Gaelic Books Council is proud to be a member of Literature Alliance Scotland